[Logo] Terracotta Discussion Forums (LEGACY READ-ONLY ARCHIVE)
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
[Expert]
Keys in Terracotta Disk Store remains always alive !!!  XML
Forum Index -> Ehcache
iacolucc

neo

Hi all, I'm new to Distributed EHCache with terracotta server. I did a simple test using EHCache and Terracotta server.
I configured ehcache with this xml configuration snippet:

<cache name="NPAT_CACHE"
maxElementsInMemory="10"
maxElementsOnDisk="20"
eternal="false"
timeToIdleSeconds="30"
timeToLiveSeconds="0" memoryStoreEvictionPolicy="LFU" >

<terracotta consistency="eventual" synchronousWrites="false" />

</cache>

I inserted 20 objects in the cache and I see 20 objects in the On-disk Size column on the terracotta developer console.

Then I inserted other 20 objects in cache and I see 40 objects in the On-disk Size column on the terracotta developer console.

I wait for some minutes and those size on disk store remained the same!

Then in java code I got some keys in the cache using getKeys() from the EHCache API.

Why Object keys still remain in the disk store also if objects are expired?

Please help me.

thank you

Marco Iacolucci
gkeim

ophanim

The default storageStrategy is now "DCV2" but if you change it to "classic" you'll see the expected behavior. DCV2 is relatively new and we're still having conversations about how its time-based and size-based management should work. DCV2 is meant for very large caches and some of these management strategies can have significant performance impact.

For now, if you really need to strictly limit the number of elements on the Terracotta Server Array, you must use the classic storageStrategy.

<terracotta storageStrategy="classic"/>

Gary Keim (terracotta developer) Want to post to this forum? Join the Terracotta Community
ssubbiah

jedi