[Logo] Terracotta Discussion Forums (LEGACY READ-ONLY ARCHIVE)
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
[Expert]
Terracotta troubleshooting  XML
Forum Index -> General
terracha

journeyman

Hi,

I'm new to Terracotta and I've inherited a job where I need to be able to understand and troubleshoot Terracotta which I don't really feel like i understand enough right now.

I've read some of the documentation, however some things are still not clear to me.

- What's the relation between Tomcat sessions and Terracotta sessions? If i see sessions in my Terracotta developer console, does that mean we're using Terracotta Web sessions? I read in the documentation that's a paid product but I believe the version we are using is open source.

- I've tried to install and get working Terracotta on our dev environment but I couldn't duplicate the production environment because for some reason, the Ehcache and hibernate under "My Application" would not show up like they do on our production site. Any idea?

That's what i can think of for now to get me going.

Thanks!
Charles
gyan10

ophanim

Terracotta sessions are clustered sessions. you can cluster your web sessions (whether your application is deployed in tomcat or any other web server). Terracotta web session comes in both version open source and paid licensed version.
If you can see sessions on Terracotta developer console that means it is working fine.
I am not sure why are you failing to do on your production site.
You can try sample example given on terracotta site.
http://terracotta.org/documentation/web-sessions/get-started

Cheers!!!!

Gyan Awasthi
Terracotta -A Software AG company
terracha

journeyman

Hi,

Thanks for the reply!

As far as Ehcache and Hibernate not showing up in "My Application", any idea what that could be. I found articles on the Terracotta site and I believe I had the right jars in the classpath.