[Logo] Terracotta Discussion Forums
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to home page 
[Register] Register / 
[Login] Login 
[Expert]
background update  XML
Forum Index -> Ehcache
nopte

journeyman

Hi,
I'm new to ehcache and I'm looking for a way to update eternal cache entries asynchronously, using a jdk5+ ThreadPool (or anything else). That way, no http request is blocked; my users (and Google) are happy.
The closest thing I found is extending an UpdatingSelfPopulatingCache.
I'll have to manage my Futures so that the same update can't be triggered twice at the same time. Ideally, I would find a way to prevent it on the entire cluster.

I have missed something obvious ? Does this request make sense ?

Thx in advance,

Olivier
alexsnaps

consul

I don't think UpdatingSelfPopulatingCache will do what you want, or at least not out of the box. Being based on the BlockingCache blocking policy, it also requires the same thread hitting the null value on get to do the subsequent put to release the segment/key. If you plan on using another thread to do the put, this will not work. Besides, all threads coming in during the refresh time will also be blocked.
You probably can still use it to put the keys to be updated on a Queue and have those elements being consumed by as many threads as required.
Basically UpdatingCacheEntryFactory.updateEntryValue would simply put the key on say a j.u.c.LinkedBlockingQueue, while one or more threads would take from it, retrieve the values to the key from the underlying system of record and update the cache asynchronously.
Technically though, you could simply decorate your cache with your own decorator, as you do not need any of the locking capabilities of BlockingCache, as far as I can tell at least. All you need to do is intercept get() calls to the cache and add the key to the queue when an update is required (based on Element.getCreationTime() ?!)...